Skip to content

Gail Burns-Smith and ATSA Awards

GBS Website Banner

The Gail Burns Smith Award recognizes individuals whose work to foster collaboration to prevent sexual violence requires collaboration across the spectrum of prevention and forward-thinking leadership. Individuals eligible for this award will have demonstrated achievements in connecting the fields of survivor advocacy with the field of sexual abuse perpetration, prevention and treatment.

New in 2024, NSVRC and ATSA are proud to offer this award to two individuals, one who primarily provides services to those who have been sexually harmed, and another to an individual who provides treatment or does research in the area of treatment or prevention of sexual harm.

Both individuals will have demonstrated success in collaborating across the prevention continuum and with their counterparts in survivor or treatment services.

The award is co-sponsored by the Association for the Treatment & Prevention of Sexual Abuse and National Sexual Violence Resource Center

About the Award

Named in honor of Gail Burns-Smith — a visionary woman who expanded the thinking and actions of two previously disconnected groups of professionals — this award is intended to ensure this important collaboration is continued and expanded by other forward-thinking leaders. The award is jointly sponsored by the Association for the Treatment & Prevention of Sexual Abuse (ATSA) and Respect Together, two organizations with similar missions and goals, honored to carry on the mission and vision of Gail Burns-Smith.

Gail Burns-Smith Award Nomination/Application Process

Send the following information electronically for consideration by June 1, 2024 to with the subject line "Gail Burns Smith Award:"

  • Biographical sketch/resume of the nominee.
  • Description of the personal and professional qualities the nominee brings to their work and how they exemplify efforts to facilitate effective partnerships between those working on behalf of victims/survivors and those working in the area of the management and treatment of people who have caused sexual harm.
  • A minimum of two letters of support in addition to the nomination letter. At least one of the letters must come from an individual outside the nominee's workplace (e.g. agency, organization, department, institution, practice).

One award will be granted annually to practitioners from each of the two fields of work. Award recipients will receive the following:

  • Award
  • Free conference registration at the ATSA Annual Research and Treatment Conference and the National Sexual Assault Conference
  • Travel to and hotel at either the ATSA or the National Sexual Assault Conference — recipient’s choice
  • Press release highlighting winners’ work released by both organizations.
Awards Banner_Purple

Nominate a Colleague for an ATSA Award!

Please select from the award list below to learn how you can nominate an ATSA member for an award. Nomination process, eligibility, decision and presentation information will be listed under each award.

Scroll To Top