ATSA is international
The Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers is a non-profit, international, multi-disciplinary, professional association of more than 3,000 specialists dedicated to making society safer by preventing sexual abuse through effective treatment and management of individuals who have sexually abused or are at risk to abuse.

ATSA’s members represent many disciplines
ATSA’s members include treatment providers and other practitioners; researchers; law enforcement and corrections officials; attorneys and members of the judiciary; victim rights advocates; representatives of key stakeholder groups; and students. ATSA offers several categories of membership based on an individual’s professional or student standing. Individuals interested in joining ATSA can learn more about types of memberships, benefits of membership, and the application process at the ATSA Membership Benefits and Requirements page.


  • Has more than 3,000 members from throughout the world. Chapters are located in the Netherlands and the United States.
  • Sets standards and issues practice guidelines for individuals treating adults and juveniles who have sexually offended or are at risk to offend.
  • Produces the highly ranked peer-reviewed journal, Sexual Abuse, eight times yearly.
  • Produces a quarterly member newsletter, The Forum.
  • Produces a code of ethics for practitioners.
  • Contributes to the development of sound public policy and evidence-informed legislation through amicus briefs, legislative responses, and educational efforts.
  • Provides Continuing Education classes taught by internationally known experts to help practitioners gain and maintain up-to-date knowledge on evidence-based best practices.
  • Hosts the world’s largest annual conference and leading educational venue for individuals working on issues related to the treatment, management, and research of sexual abuse.


ATSA has one chapter in the Netherlands and 23 chapters in the United States.
The Netherlands chapter is located in Utrecht.
U.S. chapters are located in:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware*
  • District of Columbia*
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Maryland*
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania*
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

*Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Washington, D.C., comprise the Mid-Atlantic Chapter.